Go-To Sauteed Green Beans

gbeans

This is super simple and I’m not even sure if it counts as a “recipe” but I figured I’d post it anyways. Sauteed green beans are my go-to green bean side because mushy veggies are just… the worst. Sautéing them let’s them stay crispy and they also get a little garlic and red pepper crust on them this way. I eat at least a third of them while cooking.

Ingredients:
green beans, washed and trimmed
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 garlic cloves (more to taste)
kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
onion powder to taste (I use at least two teaspoons)
red pepper flakes to taste
optional: crispy onions (sometimes when I’m feeling fancy I throw these on the top right at the end)

Directions:
1) Prep your green beans, and heat 1 tbsp of oil in a skillet on medium heat.
2) Crush garlic clove into skillet and let cook for about a minute, being careful not to burn.
3) Add green beans, and season with salt and pepper, onion powder, and red pepper flakes. Stir around.
4) I crank up the heat at this point to get the outsides nice and crisp and the seasoning starts to form a little crust on the beans (see pic above).
5) Lower heat and cook, continuing to stir, for about 10 minutes or until done to desired consistency.
6) Top with crispy onions if you feel so inclined.

Leave a Reply

