Crockpot Butter Chicken

butterchicken

Warning: I like my Indian food spicy. Not so overwhelming that you can’t taste your food, but enough to make me need a tissue. I would say these spices were almost to the tissue level, but if you don’t like too much spice, cut back on the garam masala (but don’t leave this out entirely!) and the cayenne and then add more to taste at the end.

Ingredients:
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
4 cloves garlic, crushed
1 white onion, diced
1 14-oz can coconut milk (if you use light, it’s better for you, but regular makes it a little creamier)
1 6-oz can tomato paste
2 tbsp whole wheat flour
1.5 tbsp garam masala (or more to taste)
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp ginger powder
2 tsp cayenne pepper
kosher salt
fresh black pepper
2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut up into 2-inch pieces
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
2 cups basmati rice
3.5 cups water

Directions:
1. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium high heat. Add diced onion and garlic and cook about 3 minutes.
2. Add coconut milk, tomato paste, flour, garam masala, curry powder, ginger powder, and cayenne. Stir to combine and cook until slightly thicker, about 2 minutes. Taste and season with salt and pepper. You can add more spice now or wait until after when it all cooks together for a while.
3. Add chicken to crockpot. Pour sauce over it and stir to combine. Cover crockpot and cook on low heat for 5 hours.
4. Once chicken is done, bring 3.5 cups water to a boil. Add basmati and a little salt. Reduce heat to low and cover. Cook for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

 

 

Adapted from Damn Delicious!

 

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Butter Chicken

  1. I don’t like my Indian food too spicy. I’m usually somewhere between mild and medium. Often medium is too spicy for me but mild is often too mild. I wonder, maybe I should order mild/medium next time?

    Interesting enough the garam masala I get has no heat to it. It just has fragrant spices. So I use it liberally for aromatics.

    I usually use yogurt for my butter chicken but coconut milk sounds like a very fragrant alternative. I shall give it a whirl 🙂

  2. Yogurt for the butter chicken sounds like a great idea too! I bet that would help it be really creamy. That’s awesome that you have the garam masala without much heat. I need to find that so I can add more flavor without always adding the spice… I made some at home and it has quite the kick! Sometimes too much!

Leave a Reply

